Saskatchewan Junior Hockey League

Recapping The 2023 Bombers Team Awards

Cole Duperreault took home an armful of hardware at the 2023 Flin Flon Bombers Team Awards held on Thursday, April 27th at Bakers Narrows Lodge.

Diane Krokosz Memorial Award – Most Dedicated Player: Ethan Mercer. Ethan was acquired from the AJHL’s Olds Grizzlys in November and was quickly relied upon to provide leadership and championship experience. Ethan suited up for the AJHL’s Brooks Bandits last season and helped them win the Centennial Cup national championship. One of the hardest working players on the team, Mercer stepped up in a big way during the playoffs. Despite only scoring 5 goals in 28 regular season games, Mercer would find the net 7 times in 16 playoff games. In January, Ethan was rewarded for his hard work and was named an alternate captain.

Flin Flon Junior Bombers – Most Popular Player: Cole Duperreault. This award was voted on by the fans during the final month of the regular season.

Howard Fox Courier Award – Mr. Hustle: Alex Von Sprecken & Brent Gulenchyn.¬†Alex was acquired from the Estevan Bruins in October and immediately had an impact on his new team. Known for his physical presence, Von Sprecken has been one of the toughest customers in the SJHL since his rookie season back in 2019. Brent was signed by the Bombers out of development camp last spring and continued to work his way up the lineup as the season progressed. Despite being listed at 5’9, l55lbs, the Stillwater, Minnesota product feared no one during his rookie season with the Bombers.

LaValley Artworks – Academic Award: Kenneth Marquart. Kenneth joined the Bombers after playing one season in the KIJHL with the Osoyoos Coyotes. One of the youngest goaltenders in the league this season, the 2005′ born netminder posted a 2.51 GAA & .916 SV% in 15 starts while also having a 95% average in school. On top of having to balance school and hockey, Kenneth also had a part-time job at Chicken Chef.

Creighton Furniture & Appliance Centre – Defensive Player of the Year: Lucas Fry. Lucas joined the Bombers in 2020 after spending the previous season with the MJHL’s Steinbach Pistons. Arguably one of the top shut down defenceman in the SJHL this season, Fry finished the regular season in the top 5 among all Bomber players in plus/minus and blocked shots. The Bombers captain led the team in hits. This is the second year in a row Lucas has taken home this award.

Royal Bank 3 Star Award (This award was determined by CFAR’s Rob Hart through a point system).

3rd Star – Harmon Laser-Hume

2nd Star – Jeremi Tremblay

1st Star РCole Duperreault 

George Leel Memorial Fund – Most Points: Cole Duperreault. Cole Duperreault led the Bombers in scoring this season with 64 points. Duperreault’s 64 points ranked 6th among all SJHL players.

Patty Ginnell Memorial Fund – Most Improved: Brent Gulenchyn. The gritty and tenacious forward had 19 points in 43 games this season, 12 of those coming in the final 11 regular season games. Despite beginning the season on the team’s 4th line, Brent would earn his way up the depth chart and play an integral role helping the Bombers win the Sherwood Division title without the team’s top 5 leading scorers at the end of the regular season.

Nick Oklobdzija – Rookie of the Year: Alexi Sylvestre. Alexi continues the streak of Quebec born players to win this award. The last 5 winners have been from the province of Quebec (Jeremi Tremblay 22′, Tristan Lemyre 20′, Vincent Nardone 19′, Chrystopher Collin 18′).¬†Sylvestre led all Bomber rookies in scoring with 41 points in 55 games. Alexi’s 41 points was 3rd among all first-year SJHL players. Sylvestre was arguably the teams best player down the stretch and was tied for the team lead in playoff scoring with 15 points in 16 games.

Darcy Bancroft Memorial Award – Best Defenceman: Reece Richmond. The younger brother of former Bombers defenceman Ryder Richmond, Reece was signed by the Bombers in the summer of 2020. Reece led the Bombers in defencemen scoring this season with 48 points in 54 games. Reece’s 48 points was 2nd behind North Stars defenceman Tynan Ewart in SJHL defencemen scoring. Richmond led the SJHL in power play assists with 29 for all defencemen. Reece wraps up his SJHL career with 79 points in 108 regular season games.

CFAR – Most Valuable Player: Cole Duperreault. The product of Martensville, Saskatchewan led the Bombers in a variety of different categories. Most points (64), Most goals (37), Most power play goals (18), Most shorthanded goals (3), Most game winning goals (6) and points-per-game average (1.45). Duperreault was also named the Bombers Player of the Month multiple times throughout the season and was an alternate captain in his final year as a Bomber.

Chicken Chef – Unsung Award: Kylynn Olafson. Olafson, a 2004′ born forward in his 2nd season as a Bomber, finished the regular season with 17 points in 50 games this season. Olafson contributed in many different ways. One of the SJHL’s top shut down center-men and penalty killer, Kylynn was over 50% in the faceoff circle and took pride in shutting down the opposition’s top players. Despite still being one of the younger players on the team, Olafson was a key presence in the Flin Flon locker room as a positive influence and mentor for the other younger players on the roster.

Pat Spiller Memorial Trophy – Leading Goal Scorer: Cole Duperreault. Cole led the Bombers in goal scoring with 37 goals in just 44 games this season. Duperreault’s 37 goals was 3rd among all SJHL players.

Coaches Award: Alex Von Sprecken. Bestowed upon the player with both earned on-ice success as well as assumed a leadership position in the locker room. Von Sprecken, named an alternate captain for the Bombers in January, posted 6 goals and 20 assists for 26 points in 54 games played. The Estevan, Saskatchewan product was an invaluable part of the Bombers culture this season.

“Vonny plays with his heart. He will never cheat you and he will always put his teammates first. You can trust him to bring his best effort daily.” – Bombers Head Coach & General Manager, Mike Reagan

Burkee’s Sports Lounge – Playoff MVP: Harmon Laser-Hume. Harmon was acquired from the Nipawin Hawks near the end pre-season. Laser-Hume would have a breakout year with the Bombers, posting a 2.57 GAA & .913 SV%. Harmon’s 28 wins and 4 shutouts ranked 2nd among all SJHL goaltenders. But it was the playoffs where Laser-Hume really elevated his game. Harmon posted a 2.51 GAA & .923 SV% in 16 starts to help the Bombers advance to the SJHL final.