skip navigation
Saskatchewan Junior Hockey League

Bombers News and Notes

By Flin Flon Bombers, 05/04/17, 2:00PM CDT


The Flin Flon Bombers handed out their team award recently, look forward to their Annual Spring Camp and a player receives another honor.

Spring Camp:  The Flin Flon Bombers came short of their ultimate goal for the second straight season when they fell to the Battlefords North Stars 4-0 in the Canalta Cup Finals, but for Head Coach and General Manager Mike Reagan and the staff they start looking towards next season.

And that all begins with the teams Annual Spring Camp going next weekend in Saskatoon at the Apgriplace Ice Sports, 205 Apex Street.

Players hit the ice beginning May 12th and conclude on May 14th, anyone interested can contact Reagan at 204-271-1407.

Team Awards:  The team held their annual Awards Banquet on April 23rd and the team was happy to give the following recipients awards.

George Leel Memorial Trophy – Most Points – Greyson Reitmier
CFAR Most Valuable Player – Eric Sinclair
Nick Oklobzija Memorial Award – Top Rookie – Nate Hooper
Darcy Bancroft Memorial Award – Best Defenseman – Eric Sinclair
Pat Spiller Memorial Award – Top Goal Scorer – Jason Lavallee
Paddy Ginnell Memorial Award – Most Improved – Connor Beebe
Lavalley Artworks Academic Award – Tyler Nyman
Diane Krokosz Memorial Award – Most Dedicated – Brandon Masson
Most Popular Player – Greyson Reitmeier
Howard Fox Courier Mr. Hustle Award – Nick Shumlanski
Unsung Hero – Kristian St. Onge
Creighton Furniture Defensive Player of the Year – Kristian St. Onge & Braden Lacoursiere
Coach’s Award – Greyson Reitmeier
Burkee’s Sports Lounge Playoff Most Valuable Player – Eric Sinclair & Kristian St. Onge
RBC 3 Stars:
1st Star – Zac Robidoux
2nd Star – Eric Sinclair
3rd Star – Greyson Reitmeier

Sinclair CJHL Top Defenseman:  Eric Sinclair picked up his second straight SJHL Defensman of the year award this season, and for that was also recently named a nominee for the CJHL Top Defenseman.

Sinclair had 51 points (17g, 34a) in 46 games this season between the Melfort Mustangs and the Bombers.  The third year from Kenora, ON will join the University of Alaska-Anchourage in the fall on a scholarship.