skip navigation
Saskatchewan Junior Hockey League

Bombers Clinch Division Crown

By Flin Flon Bombers, 03/09/17, 8:45AM CST


Flin Flon wins the Sherwood Division title on the last day of the regular season by shutting out the Nipawin Hawks.

Kristian St. Onge (Saskatoon, SK) and Rylee Zimmer (Russell, MB) each had three points and Zac Robidoux (Winnipeg, MB) made 22 saves for his sixth shutout of the season as the Bombers up ended the visiting Nipawin Hawks 4-0, clinching the Bombers first division title since 2010.

Greyson Reitmeier (Nakusp, BC) opened the scoring 2:25 into the opening frame on the power play from Zimmer and Nick Shumlanski (Tisdale, SK).

Reitmeier’s 28th of the season would be the first of three power play goals for the Bombers as Shumlanski would increase the lead to 2-0 on the man advantage from Zimmer and St. Onge.

Brandon Lesko (Hafford, SK) scored the lone goal in the second from St. Onge and Jordan McCausland (Brandon, MB ) before St. Onge rounded out the scoring in the third from Reitmeier and Zimmer.

Reitmeier’s assist on the feed across to St. Onge would give him 79 points (28g, 51a) tying him with Notre Dame’s Ben Dupperrault for the league lead.

Overall the Bombers were 3 for 4 on the power play while killing off all four Hawk’s power plays.

Flin Flon will now sit and wait to see who their first round opponent will be as the Hounds will take on the Melfort Mustangs with the Weyburn Red Wings taking on the Kindersley Klippers in the best of five Wild Card Series starting this weekend.