skip navigation
Saskatchewan Junior Hockey League

Boehm, Roach Take Home League Awards

By Flin Flon Bombers, 02/25/13, 9:00AM CST


Boehm takes home top rookie while Roach wins top defenseman for the 2012-13 season.

The SJHL and Flin Flon Bombers are pleased to announce that two members of the 2012-13 team are recipients of this season’s league awards.

Josh Roach – SJHL Top Defenseman

1992 D Josh Roach (Saskatoon SK) closes out his final season in the SJHL in fine style as he was the most prolific offensive blueliner by a long shot and also, vastly, improved his defensive game and stepped up his leadership qualities as well, lending his experience from last year  as a member of the 2012 Canalta Cup champion Humboldt Broncos.  Roach was dealt to Flin Flon as future considerations over the summer in the 2011 trade that saw the Bombers send Andrew Johnston to Humboldt.  Roach helped make Mike Reagans’ patience pay off as he not only led all defensemen in most major categories; but he also came up just one vote shy in the SJHL MVP race.  With 13-goals and 41-assists in 52-games, Roach put up over a point per game in a year where offensive production was hard to come by for SJHL skaters.  In addition to leading all defensemen in goals, assists, and points, he also finished tied for the lead in powerplay points.

Brett Boehm – Rookie of the Year

1994 F Brett Boehm (Saskatoon SK) was a runaway winner for the award as he, like teammate Roach, led all players eligible for the award by a wide margin.  While Boehm continues to refine the intangibles of his game, his offense is already at an elite level.  So much so, that the National Hockey League has taken notice and is on the radar for, potentially, going in the 2013 Entry Draft.  Boehm scored 24-goals and 27-assists in 47-games (still two to play), leading all first year players in each of those three categories.  In fact, he’s fifteen points better than the second highest scoring rookie.  Boehm has a scholarship to attend Minnesota-Duluth.   He also joins goaltender Devin Buffalo as recent winners of this award.